The Gray Cup

The Gray Cup would be the name of equally the championship of your Canadian Soccer League plus the name on the trophy (Cup) that is certainly awarded to your victorious team (The Grey Cup Winners). The Cup was donated in 1909 from the then Governor Basic of Canada, Lord Earl Gray. The cup was to become recognized to your prime beginner rugby football group in Canada. At this time Canadian rugby had grow to be really diverse with the rugby union soccer from which it originated. The Cup, over time, grew to become the assets from the Canadian Soccer League, which happens to be often known as the CFL.You can watch the soccer league everywhere on Grey Cup 2019 Live Stream.

The CFL had developed and turn into a expert league that performed Canadian soccer. The college soccer groups contend now to the Vanier Cup. New improvements within the league have introduced in regards to the thought of changing the name of the Gray cup towards the title of the current many years corporate sponsor. Traditionalists of your CFL have overtly objected the concept, stating that the Canadian Football league really should not trade a historical and national treasure for shore time period league income. So far the cup hasn’t been renamed!

As I discussed previously the cup was initially used in 1909. Underneath I’ve listed just about every fifth grey cup winner from 1909 up right up until this year, 2005.

1909 – College of Toronto Varsity Blues (26-6) above the Toronto Parkdale
1914 – Toronto Argonauts (14-2) more than the University of Toronto
1919 – Not held due to Spanish Flu Pandemic
1924 – Queen’s College Golden Gaels (11-3) more than the Toronto Balmy Beach front
1929 – Hamilton Tigers (14-3) more than the Regina Roughriders
1934 – Sarnia Imperials (20-12) over the Regina Roughriders
1939 – Winnipeg Blue Bombers (8-7) about the Ottawa Rough Riders

No Comments

Post a Comment